How do you get over a cold quickly? cure?

I have a cold already! It isn’t even fall yet and I had the headache, sore throat, post nasal drip snot thing going on all week last week and this week I am coughing up a lung. I knew I was low on sleep and not really eating the best foods latley because I was low on cash, and sure enough there was a cold virus out there waiting for me on the train. Well maybe not the train. It is more likley the office. I have heard 5 other people coughing and clearing their throats this morning here, so its likley that I am not the only one with this latest greatest cold virus.

This particular strain started with 2 days of headaches which I didn’t think were illness at all. I thought they were from my dust allergy. Then it subsided a bit for a few days and then the throat started getting sore. Ewww. Next my coughing started because I had all this post nasal drip snot going on. I take allergy medications so my nose hasn’t been runny, but no one else here is blowing their nose either, so maybe this germ doesn’t have that symptom.  I hope after my 7-10 days fighting this virus I have a better immunity this winter. I had 6 colds last year and it sucked hard. I was sick the majority of the time from October to March. I would have 2 weeks sick and then one week well and then 2 weeks sick again. It was an awful 2006-2007. 

I am looking to be better prepared this year and avoid the colds more than catch them in 2007-2008. As far as curing the cold, no one has anything that really helps. Despite all the claims in the world, Claritin-D stops your nose from running, but the virus still needs it’s 7-10 days to be fought. Here are some ways I found in my searhc that should help prevent colds though. That seems to be the best thing I can find, or just never leave your house so you don’t get exposed to anything. It is said that these tips can reduce your colds from 8 a year to 3 per year. I certainly hope they help!

Here are five proven ways to reduce exposure to germs (cold viruses):

  • Switch day care: Using a day care where there are six or fewer children dramatically reduces germ contact.
  • Wash hands: Children and adults should wash hands at key moments — after nose-wiping, after diapering or toileting, before eating, and before preparing food.
  • Use instant hand sanitizers: A little dab will kill 99.99% of germs without any water or towels. The products use alcohol to destroy germs. They are an antiseptic, not an antibiotic, so resistance can’t develop.
  • Disinfect: Clean commonly touched surfaces (sink handles, sleeping mats) with an EPA-approved disinfectant.
  • Use paper towels instead of shared cloth towels.

Here are seven ways to support the immune system:

  • Avoid unnecessary antibiotics: The more people use antibiotics, the more likely they are to get sick with longer, more stubborn infections caused by more resistant organisms in the future.
  • Breastfeed: Breast milk is known to protect against respiratory tract infections, even years after breastfeeding is done. Kids who don’t breastfeed average five times more ear infections.
  • Avoid second-hand smoke: Keep as far away from it as possible! It is responsible for many health problems, including millions of colds.
  • Get enough sleep: Late bedtimes and poor sleep leave people vulnerable.
  • Drink water: Your body needs fluids for the immune system to function properly.
  • Eat yogurt: The beneficial bacteria in some active yogurt cultures help prevent colds.
  • Take zinc: Children and adults who are zinc-deficient get more infections and stay sick longer.

3 thoughts on “How do you get over a cold quickly? cure?

  1. My co-worker hops on a stationary bike and sweats it out. Allows him to take in more fluids, too. I have yet to try this method, but when I’m sick I usually don’t feel up to much of anything, let alone physical exertion.

  2. this really isnt a good example….. to get over a cold the MAIN things are, lota water, good sleep, vitamin c rich foods, chicken soup, protein rich foods, good hygeine and most of all EXERCISE…. sweat it out, make ur immune as strong as possible and by doing this you can get over a cold within 2 days

Leave a Reply

