The stuff they don’t tell you

Some advice from me to you…things I would have liked to have known but I didn’t until it was too late.

Never buy a URL and list it as a business URL. You will get spammed and called by every telemarketer in the book. Especially through godaddy. They’re the worst. They sell their customer lists to anyone and everyone.

If you work for the government, especially locally in schools as a teacher or for public works, people can request information about your job and how much money you make. In fact there is a site out now (that I’m not going to link to) that is publishing all the teacher’s salaries in Illinois by name online. They say its legal, and I don’t think it is because your personal identity information is being compromised. and they refuse to remove it by request. If they said to you when you got hired: Oh by the way we’re going to publish your name, title, address, phone and email with your salary history on the internet for each year you work here…I don’t think anyone would ever be a teacher. I only found out through a routine google alert I have up for myself. 

Leave a Reply

