My New Years Resolutions for 2008 (goals) Happy New Year!

This year has been a trying one for me. Both for personal and non-personal reasons especially early in the year. Seriously, it’s not good when TopGear is a highlight of your week. There were some good things later in the year though and I appreciate them a lot. Anyway, here are some of my resolutions for 2008. Hopefully 2008 will be a better year than 2007 was overall.

1. Loose 20 lbs. It’s a necessity. It has been creeping on for 3-4 years and it’s time to take it off again. In real terms this means no deserts, walking or running regularly and no snacks from the vending machine or otherwise. I also have to help my cat Zeus loose some weight. He is also a bit overweight for his size and is equally lazy at the moment.

2. Save 5K more in savings again. I did this in 2007 and intend to do it again in 2008. To have some kind of safety net is important and I took the dependable cash flow from work for granted for too long. I am in ok financial shape now but it can always be better. Then eventually it would be nice to have some money invested again but that might not be until 2009.

3. To keep things going along well with Steve. This isn’t as much a goal as a hope.

4. To keep up the HPV  Cervical Pre-Cancer Dysplasia health related follow ups and surgery again when it’s needed later in the year.

5. To take some kind of web or HTML class. I have been saying this for years and there is only so much you can learn through mucking around right? I feel like I need it for work.

6. To be better at time management. This means to get to bed early and get up early first of all, and otherwise just try and be more conscious of the clock. I get into tunnel vision and loose all track of time and space. I am also a huge daydreamer and distracted easily person. Lots to do better here.

7. To learn to cook some things. Not a real specific goal here, but in general cooking at home is intended to be cheaper, healthier (less processed) and a learning experience so I don’t have to rely on takeout and pre-prepared foods all the time.

8. To get back into being more career goal oriented again. I have been happily sitting in the role I am in here for more than a year. I think it’s time to innovate it or change somehow to get to the next level again. This could be a new role or just more changes within this one. I feel antsy again, and that happens about every year or so.

 So that’s it and it’s published publicly so I have to follow through now. Happy New Year to all of you too.

What are some of your 2008 Goals?

4 thoughts on “My New Years Resolutions for 2008 (goals) Happy New Year!

  1. As always, my main resolutions are to be more social and to make new friends.

    The new goal for 2008 is to properly furnish and decorate my living space — it still looks like I just moved in.

    Let us know if you find a good HTML/CSS/DHTML class, as I need to brush up on that stuff, as well.

    Happy New Year!

  2. Good luck with the goals! Maybe work can contribute $$$ toward the web/html course?

    Your $5K savings goal is an inspiration and one that I really need to add to my ephemeral in-my-brain list. Which I really ought to write down somewhere to make it happen.

  3. Just an update on these goals I posted a while back.

    I have been better about learning to cook, I am taking an HTML class next week for 2 days and I’m keeping up with the Dr. Appointments about the HPV but nothing has changed there yet to start looking at surgery.

    Steve and I are doing really well and I am somewhat better at time management and getting up earlier but it kind of depends on the day.

    The loose weight thing hasn’t happend but I haven’t gained any either. I am still working on being un-stressed so I don’t snack.

    The save money thing hasn’t happened because what I saved I spent fixing my stupid Saab. It was an insane $1,500 to replace a fuel pump and wheel berring (at only 80K miles!!) and it still doesn’t start well. I may have to buy a new car soon and that means 10Kish debt on a Used car and no saving, because any extra money goes toward paying off the car early. So, this goal won’t happen this year unless my current car lasts, which is reeeeaallly doubtful.

  4. Pingback: New Year’s Resolutions 2008 Check in « The Protagonist

Leave a Reply

